Monthly Archives: March 2011

What’s Trending: Bald Eagle Hatch Watch!

Posted on by

Here at Ustream HQ, our entire staff has obsessively been tuned in to the Decorah Eagle Cam awaiting the arrival of 3 bald eagle chicks scheduled to hatch any time between now and April 1st. The momma eagle has been guarding her nest and giving viewers quite an impressive show in the meantime–with the channel’s two cameras working in tandem to give viewers the best possible angle on the action.

The camera has been up and running since 2007, when the mating pair first chose this secluded spot in the trees to raise their eaglets. Since then, over 2 million people have tuned in to watch the eagle babies hatch, grow, and fledge.

Here are some interesting facts about the nest and its resident Bald Eagles:

  • The nest is 5-6 feet across and weighs about 1 1/2 tons!
  • The female Eagle is actually larger than the male
  • This pair have been together since the winter of 2007-2008 have have successfully raised and fledged 3 clutches of eggs.

You can read more about the Nest on CNN, Wired, and even watch a 2008 PBS Documentary about the eagles here.

And now if you’ll excuse us, we have some eggs to watch…

SXSW Events on Ustream

Posted on by

Pepsi MAX
Monday, March 14 – Saturday, March 19
Kick off SXSW with Pepsi MAX’s party on Monday! Hip hop superstar Big Boi will be performing live on Monday night, and there will be more events throughout the week. It all starts at 6pm PT/9pm ET, so be sure to follow the event’s Facebook page here to watch live. [clear here]

Rolling Stone
Beginning Wednesday, March 16 at 6pm PT/9pm ET
You can also catch all of Rolling Stone’s SXSW content live beginning on Wednesday with a top-notch lineup of new and upcoming talent. See Queens of the Stone Age, The Meat Puppets, Beast Make Bomb, and more from La Zona Rosa in Austin. [clear here]

The VIBE House
Beginning Wednesday, March 16th at 6pm PT/9pm ET
VIBE Magazine will also be broadcasting their parties in Austin live from their official channel page. See what goes down at “The VIBE House” powered by Cashmere Agency. For a complete broadcast schedule and to RSVP, check out the channel page here. [clear here]

Killers, Lasers, Papers | Atlantic Records + Rolling Stone
Thursday, March 17 at 6pm PT/9pm ET
Atlantic Records and Rolling Stone are teaming up to broadcast some of the hottest acts at SXSW! See live performances by B.o.b, Janelle Monae, and Wiz Khalifa from the channel page here. [clear here]

The 4th Annual AUSTINROX Party
Wedneday, March 16 – Thursday, March 17
The Roxy Theatre is packing up from The Sunset Strip and heading to SXSW for their Official SXSW 4th Annual AUSTINROX party! Acts include Cisco Adler and The Pigeons, Deep Dark Robot feat. Linda Perry, Johnny Polygon, Andy Grammer, and more! Tune in and RSVP here. [clear here]

Green Label Sound SXSW Showcase
Friday, March 18 at 6pm PT/9pm ET
Mt. Dew’s Green Label Sound invites you to the official green label sound SXSW showcase featuring performances from Chromeo, Classixx, The Cool Kids, Mac Miller, and MNDR. [clear here]

Other Events This Week:

MySpace Chat with The Bachelor and Bachelorette!
Tuesday, March 15th at 11am PT/2pm ET
Don’t miss this chance to chat live with Kiptyn and Tenley from The Bachelor and The Bachelorette. Ask them about everything from finding true love to the best/worst moments on the show. Tune in and RSVP here. [clear here]

Dr. Oz
Thursday, March 17th at 4:30pm PT/7:30pm ET
Join Dr. Oz for another live chat to answer your questions about health and weight loss. [clear here]

Playboy’s Live All-Star Weekend
Wednesday, March 16th – Saturday, March 19th
Starting Wednesday, fans will be able to log on and get a tour of the Bunny House with Playmates Jaime Faith Edmondson, Crystal McCahill, Jennifer Pershing, and Kimberly Phillips. Then on Friday, tune in for the Playboy Golf Finals with a roster of celebrity players, and Saturday, tune in for the Playboy Golf Lingerie and Pajama Party. [clear here]

We’re in Sheen’s Korner This Week

Posted on by

Here’s the menu of what you have to look forward to this week. It’s going to be an epic one!
[clear here]
[clear here]
Sheen’s Korner
Monday, March 7th 7pm PT/10pm ET
In case you spent the weekend buried under a massive rock, prolific philosopher/speaker of truth Charlie Sheen was live on his new recurring show, Sheen’s Korner. During the first and second episode, he explained how telephones are “the weapon of the trolls”, and promised to keep delivering “violent torpedoes of truth” to his viewers. And if you missed any of the action, you can catch up by watching episode 2 here. And don’t forget to gear up for epsisode 3, which airs tonight. [clear here]

Hubble/Spitzer Fellows Research Symposium
Tuesday, March 8th 9am PT/12pm ET
See the recent recipients of the Hubble/Spitzer prize postdoctoral fellowships share the results of their work on everything from the solar system to high-z cosmology. Excuse the lame Monday pun, but it will literally be out-of-this-world. Watch and RSVP here. [clear here]

Dr. Oz Live
Thursday, March 10th 4:30pm PT/7:30pm ET
It’s time for a special Myth-busting episode of Move it to Lose It with the world renowned Dr. Oz! Can you really lose 10 lbs. in 10 days? Is it possible to target your weight loss to specific body parts? Can you just be “born with fat genes”? If you can handle the truth, Dr. Oz and Nike SPARQ coaches will be live to deliver it to you, right here. [clear here]

Victoria Justice Chat with Seventeen Magazine
Friday, March 11th 1pm PT/4pm ET
Seventeen Magazine presents a live chat with Zoey 101’s Victoria Justice! She’ll be sharing her style + beauty secrets, answering questions from the Ustream viewers, and revealing information about upcoming projects! Watch it right here. [clear here]

Social Media Clubhouse at SXSW
Friday, March 11th beginning at 8am PT/11am ET
Tune in beginning Friday for this “Real World-meets-conference-media-production-hub” live from SXSW! Throughout the weekend, see some of the leading speakers and new media rockstars discuss everything from Social Media for Education, to Citizen Journalism and Art & Technology. For a complete schedule and to RSVP, click here. [clear here]

One Day University PPV with Peter Guber
Sunday, March 13th beginning at 6am PT/9am ET
The Learning Annex is bringing their famous One Day University courses to Ustream to give viewers unfettered access to some of the best and brightest minds of today. On Sunday, the esteemed speaker will be award-winning filmmaker and CEO of Mandalay Entertainment Peter Gruber. He’s produced such films as Midnight Express, Gorillas in the Mist, Batman, and Rain Man. For more information and to buy tickets, click here.