Monthly Archives: August 2010

Weekly Events 8/30

Posted on by

Burning Man
Monday, 8/30 through Monday, 9/6
Time to tune up your vegetable oil trucks, stash your water supply, and stock up on non-toxic face paint, because Burning Man 2010 is here! Or, if you don’t feel like spending a week in the desert, just tune in to the remote-controlled live feed here. [clear here]

EA Sports NHL 11 Launch Party
Tuesday, 8/31 at 11am PT
Gamers and hockey fans! Don’t miss this exclusive launch party for EA’s new NHL 11 live from the channel page here. While the official launch isn’t until Sept. 7th, you’ll get a preview of the entire game and have an opportunity to chat live with some of the top draft picks from the NHL 2010 draft! [clear here]

Samsung Developer’s Conference
Tuesday, 8/31 at 7:30am PT
Tune in for the Samsung Free the TV Developer Day live from their official Ustream channel page here. Speakers include Pandora’s Tim Westergren, ESPN’s Chuck Pagano, CNET’s Brian Cooley and Apple co-founder Steve Wozniak. [clear here]

Goo Goo Dolls
Tuesday, 8/31 at 12pm PT
Chat live with the Goo Goo Dolls on the eve of their long-awaited studio album, “Something for the Rest of Us.” Ask them about living in the studio and what’s changed since they first formed in 1986! Live here. [clear here]

Disturbed
Tuesday, 8/31 at 12:15pm PT
Hard rock band Disturbed will be chatting live with fans from their channel page here. Can they reclaim the top of the charts with their latest studio album, “Asylum”?  Don’t miss this chance to hang with the band and get a little peek into their creative process. [clear here]

MySpace Secret Show: The Ready and Never Shout Never
Tuesday, 8/31 at 6pm PT
Shhh! Time for another MySpace Secret show with The Ready and Never Shout Never! Because what could be better than a free concert from your couch on a Tuesday night?! Watch it here. [clear here]

Papa Roach
Tuesday, 8/31 at 6pm PT
Continuing our hard rock theme this week, join Papa Roach for a live chat from their channel page here. [clear here]

Toms of Maine Wicked Fresh Wednesdays
Wednesday, 9/1 at 5pm PT
Each week for the next 4 weeks, join Toms of Maine for a chat featuring a different celebrity fan of the line. This week, it’s Peter Facinelli live from the official Tom’s of Maine channel page here. [clear here]

Penny Arcade Expo (PAX)
Friday, 9/3 through Sunday, 9/5
Check out this world-famous 3 day game festival for tabletop, videogame, and PC gamers. Each year attendees are treated to tournaments, panel discussions, and nerdcore concerts, but now you can catch all the action too from the channel page right here. [clear here]

New Look for Ustream Today!

Posted on by

Your eyes aren’t playing tricks on you — Ustream has a different look today! You will notice some changes on our site this morning. We released a new updated look and feel and some new features that aim to enhance your site experience – the ability to discover shows that interest you, and to broadcast more easily.

We’re taking a big step forward today and we have more exciting changes to come soon. Please share your feedback; it’s valuable to us as we’re continuing to iterate.

Here is a quick update on the changes, which you’ll find are primarily housed on the homepage and within the Ustream account dashboard.

Homepage changes:

  • Cleaner look and feel to allow for better navigating of live and recorded events
  • Redesigned header and footer, making it easier to find the content you’re looking for on the site

Dashboard changes:

  • Improved interface for managing your account and shows
  • Tailored account dashboard first displays the top four shows you care about and then how to manage your account and shows
  • Enhanced functionality to find your friends through Facebook, Twitter and other communities
  • Improved video page enables more sharing options along with easy access to share with the most popular social networks
  • Features more content, including upcoming events

We look forward to hearing from you on these new changes, and stay tuned for more to come in the following months. To submit your feedback, please visit our Support Center here.

Help Ustream Get to SXSW This Year!

Posted on by

Austin’s digital interactive, film and music festival South By Southwest is still months away, but we’re already making preparations for the events. Ustream’s founder and President Brad Hunstable has been nominated to serve as a panelist, and we need your votes to secure his place as a speaker!

Of the 2300+ speaker submissions, only 500 will be chosen. Fortunately, we have a say in it. User votes account for 30% of the decision making process (other 30% is staff and 40% is advisory board) so please take 2 minutes and vote for Ustream:
3. Click on the “thumbs up” icon
4. Ensure the vote is saved by checking the top of the screen for a “your vote is saved” message
PanelPicker voting will close at 9:59 pm Pacific Daylight Time on Friday, August 27. Feel free to spread the word to your communities and friends on Twitter and Facebook!

Weekly Events 8/23

Posted on by

Darkchild Producers and Songwriters Contest
Monday, 8/23 at 2pm PT/5pm ET
Super-producer, Rodney “Darkchild” Jerkins (producer of Lady Gaga and Beyonce’s “Telephone”) has launched a search for the next big producer/songwriter, and he’s going to announce the winner during a live broadcast today! Tune in to his channel page here.


Boston University First Year Student Outreach Project

Monday, 8/23 at 5pm PT/8pm ET
Boston University is broadcasting their First Year Student Outreach Project (FYSOP). Started in 1989, the program offers incoming students a chance to get settled in their new community by engaging in a week of service before classes begin. Prospective students might want to check it out right here.


Miss Universe Crowning Moment
Monday, 8/23 at 7:30pm PT/10:30pm ET
It’s the moment we’ve all been waiting for–tonight Miss Universe 2010 will be crowned during a live broadcast on Ustream. Tune in here for the live feed on Monday night.


Clevver TV with Joslyn and Dana
Tuesday, 8/24 at 5pm PT/8pm ET
Tune in to the first installment of this weekly show to get the latest Teen Entertainment News, Gossip, Movie Previews, Music Info and more! Watch it here.


Fantasy Football Live with Ashton Kutcher
Wednesday 8/25 at 6pm PT/9pm ET
This week Ashton and friends are going live for another lively discussion about Fantasy Football. With pre-season underway, you’ll definitely want to connect with his panel of experts to make sure your fantasy football team can go all the way this year! Tune in here.


Goldenboy Fight Night
Thursday 8/26 at 7pm PT/10pm ET
Join Oscar De La Hoya for another round of his monthly boxing series presenting new and upcoming talent in the ring. Tune in here to see tomorrow’s legends duke it out.


Emmys Backstage Show and Red Carpet Broadcast
Sunday, 8/29 beginning at 4pm PT/7pm ET
There are two ways to catch all the excitement at the Primetime Emmys this year. You can watch the red carpet coverage via NBC’s live feed here, and catch all the excitement backstage from the Academy’s channel here. This way you definitely won’t miss your favorite stars walking the carpet or winning their awards!

Events for the Week of 8/16

Posted on by

Damian Marley Visits Ustream HQ
Monday, 8/16 at 3pm PT/6pm ET
Tune in today for a live Q&A session with Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley from Ustream’s office headquarters in San Francisco! Ask your questions in the social stream from his official channel page here.


Zappos Delivering Happiness
Monday, 8/16 at 5pm PT/8pm ET
Zappos CEO Tony Hsieh is back with another installment of Delivering Happiness live from Las Vegas! Confirmed guests include pro skateboarder Tony Hawk, comedian David Pritchard, and Las Vegas Mayor Oscar Goodman. One lucky viewer will win 2 tickets to join Tony on his Happy Hour bus tour!


American Idol Chat
Tuesday, 8/17 at 3pm PT/6pm ET
Tune in for a live chat with American Idol finalists brought to you by AT&T from the official channel page here.


Bon Jovi Movie Night
Wednesday, 8/18 at 6pm PT/9pm ET
Check out Bon Jovi’s official Ustream channel page here every week for a movie night! This week viewers will be treated to a screening of the band’s movie “This Left Feels Right.”


Fantasy Football Live
Wednesday, 8/18 at 6pm PT/9pm ET
Football season is nearly upon us, so it’s time to brush up on your fantasy football skills with Ashton Kutcher and his panel of fantasy football fanatics. Celebrity guests will be dropping by periodically, so be sure to tune in every week on Ashton’s channel page here!


Big Boi MySpace Show
Wednesday, 8/18 at 7pm PT/10pm ET
Outkast’s Big Boi will be performing an exclusive live MySpace show on Ustream from his official channel page here.


Miss Universe Prelim
Thursday, 8/19 at 4pm PT/7pm ET
Miss Universe is coming to Ustream! Watch the prelims on Thursday, then tune in for the crowning moment Monday, 8/23 from the official Ustream channel page ustream.tv/missuniverse.


Gnomedex
Friday, 8/20 at 9am PT/12pm ET
It’s time for Chris Pirillo’s Gnomedex 10, the geek-centric conference for inspiration and influence. Tune in to Chris’ channel page here for complete coverage of the 2-day conference.


Activision at GamesCon
Friday. 8/20 at 9am PT/12pm ET
Live from GamesCon, Germany, catch a live interview with Treyarch’s community manager Josh Olin and Hank Keirsey, Military Advisor to the Call of Duty series. It all goes down right here.

Events for the Week of 8/9

Posted on by

Madden Gras
Monday, 8/9 at 12pm PT/3pm ET
Join EA Sports today for a live broadcast to celebrate the release of NFL 11 from their official channel page here.


The Single Chef
Monday, 8/9 at 6pm PT/9pm ET
Check out Monday programming over at The Room Live and cook up some delicious delicacies with their resident Single Chef. You don’t have to be eating Lean Cuisines and cereal for dinner, seriously.


This Week in Mad Men
Monday, 8/9 at 7:15pm PT/10:15pm ET
Mad Men Heads won’t want to miss this panel discussion–they take Mad Men Worship to a collegiate level with discussions about everything from the show’s mise en scene, to Joan Holloway’s daring red dress, to Don’s smoking habit. It all goes down on This Week In’s channel page here.


Gatorade Chats
Tuesday, 8/10 at 8:30am PT/11:30am ET
Wednesday, 8/11 at 7:45am PT/10:45am ET
Thursday, 8/12 TBD
Join the folks at Gstream for a series of live chats with US Soccer players Herculez Gomez, Alejandro Bedoya, and Evan Turner from the Gatorade channel page here.


Morgan Page
Tuesday, 8/10 at 7pm PT/10pm ET
Icon TV presents: Feedback with Morgan Page. On this week’s show, Grammy-nominated artist Morgan Page is in the chair, talking about technology, music, passion and creativity with host Christopher Wight. Watch it here.


Downtown Fiction
Tuesday, 8/10 at 5pm PT/8pm ET
Check out Photo Finish Records’ official Ustream channel here on Tuesday for a live chat with the band Downtown Fiction.

Stripped Down Live
Wednesday, 8/11 at 8pm PT/11pm ET
Join musician Curt Smith of Tears for Fears for the weekly music show brought to you by the Streaming Garage channel. Each week Curt talks music with a different guest about his or her craft and the business of music. Watch it here.


UN Foundation Live with Mandy Moore
Thursday, 8/12 at 11am PT/2pm ET
Actress/Singer Mandy Moore will join experts from Nothing But Nets™ and PSI for a live, interactive discussion on malaria in Africa. Those who want to help or are just curious about learning more should check it out on Facebook and Ustream right here.

Expendables Red Carpet and Other Events This Week

Posted on by

Expendables Red Carpet
Tuesday 8/3 at 5pm PT/8pm ET
Fans of big-budget action films won’t want to miss the new Expendables flick directed by Sylvester Stallone. The film stars some of the biggest names from the blockbuster action films of the late 80’s and early 90’s, including Arnold Schwarzenegger, Bruce Willis, Dolph Lundgren, Mickey Rourke, and Jet Li, as well as UFC veteran Randy Couture. Check out the red carpet premiere of the film and see all the stars right here!

Sony Takers Red Carpet
Wednesday 8/4
Join Sony Pictures for the Takers red carpet premiere featuring Idris Elba, T.I., Matt Dillon, and Chris Brown in his first major movie role. They play a group of sexy bank robbers intent on outsmarting a hard boiled detective for one last heist. Watch it here.

Wynton Marsalis Live from Marciac Festival
Thursday 8/5 at 2pm PT/5pm ET
What could be classier that a live jazz performance in France? Raise your IQ (and your curb appeal) by watching jazz legend Wynton Marsalis perform live at the Marciac Jazz Festival right here.

Anjelah Johnson
Thursday 8/5 at 8:15pm PT/11:15pm ET
Join comedian Anjelah Johnson for a candid discussion with fans about nail salons, Bon Qui Qui, and other important topics before her live stand-up show in Brea, California. Watch her first live chat ever right here, and tune in to her official Ustream channel page here to watch.

UFC 117
Friday 8/6 at 3pm PT/6pm ET
Watch the UFC 117 pre-weigh in before Saturday’s big headlining fight between Anderson Silva and Chael Sonnen. As always, you’ll get an exclusive behind-the-scenes look at what goes down before the big night. Watch it here.

UPDATED:

Fox Teen Choice Awards
Sunday 8/8 at 3:30pm PT/6:30pm ET
Where can you go to see Katy Perry, Zac Efron, Taylor Swift, Jimmy Fallon, Selena Gomez, and Betty White all in one place? At the Teen Choice Awards! Cast your vote for your favorite nominees and then tune in on Sunday to see all your favorite stars walking the red carpet in their finest duds (or dirty jeans as the case may be). Watch here.