Monthly Archives: July 2010

Taylor Swift Chat and Other Live Events This Week

Posted on by

Taylor Swift Fan Chat
Tuesday, 7/20 at 2pm PT/5pm ET
Join country music sweetheart Taylor Swift for a live chat where she’ll be taking YOUR questions about her new album live from her official Ustream channel page here. To put it in Taylor’s own words, “I want [the fans] to be the first to know about my new music, and I can’t wait to talk to everybody as directly as I can.”

Killers Premiere Melbourne
Monday, 7/19 at 11pm PT
You watched the US Premiere of Ashton Kutcher’s new movie Killers (see the video here). Now watch Ashton, Katherine, and the rest of the cast walk the red carpet from Australia! Drink some coffee, stat up late, and tune in here.


Katy Perry
Wednesday, 7/21 at 1:30pm PT/4:30pm ET
“California Gurl” Katy Perry is inviting Ustream viewers to be the first to catch a glimpse of her new album artwork created by artist Will Cotten. She’ll follow the unveiling with a live chat where she’ll take questions from fans in the social stream. Tune in and RSVP here.


Wine Market “Be Your Own Backyard Sommelier”
Wednesday, 7/21 at 6pm PT/9pm ET
Join Sommelier Courtney Cochran for a live virtual wine tasting. She’ll help you negotiate the complex and intimidating world of wines and recommend some well-priced bottles to try at home. The bottle may set you back $10, but remember, impressing guests at your next dinner party with your sudden impressive wine knowledge is priceless. Catch it here.


WOWiO at Comic-con
Thursday, 7/22-Saturday, 7/24
Join WOWIO, the only place where comic book fans can access thousands of high quality ebooks for free, at this year’s Comic-con. They’ll be hosting a virtual tour of the mayhem from their channel page here.


Goldenboy Fight Night
Thursday, 7/22 at 7pm PT/10pm ET
Join Oscar De La Hoya’s Fightnightclub for another explosive round of up-and-coming fighters. These guys may not be household names yet, but they’re talented, hungry, and they’ll be slugging it out in the boxing ring. And you don’t even have to put yourself through Pay-Per-View prices to watch it! Just tune in here.


Spartacus Webchat
Friday, 7/23 at 5pm PT/8pm ET
The greatest stories deserve to be told and retold, which is why the Starz network has embarked on an ambitious quest to portray the legendary Spartacus. On the eve of the show’s second season, join the stars for a live chat to talk about working on the set and what’s to come in the next season. Watch it here.


Loveparade
Saturday, 7/24 at 8am PT/11am ET
On Saturday, Duisberg, Germany will become home to one of the largest music festivals in Europe–the 19th Annual Loveparade. Viewers on Ustream will get an unprecedented peek into the festival from 30+ different camera angles on the channel page here. Loveparade is for mature audiences only, so you’ll need to enter your birthdate before you can check it out.

Miss Teen USA
Saturday, 7/24 at 7:30pm PT/10:30pm ET
Watch the pageant hopefuls strut their stuff from the official Ustream channel page here. Then stay tuned to catch the crowning moment live!


Real L Word
Sunday, 7/25 at 8pm PT/11pm ET
Every week, join host Natalie as she chats with the “Celesbians” of Showtime’s The Real L Word. Think of it as a behind-the-scenes aftershow when the new episodes end on Sunday night. If you haven’t checked it out, or you want to watch some of the previous weeks’ chats, check out the channel page here.

Launch of Improved Measures to Protect Copyright Holders and Vobile Integration

Posted on by

We believe it is important to protect content publishers and provide tools to help combat the illegal sharing of copyrighted material. Today, we are releasing improvements to our copyright protection tools, and announcing a full integration with the Vobile fingerprinting solution.

We are 100 percent committed to copyright protection and believe these tools will both support the ongoing needs of copyright holders and the user experience and safety of our community.  We recognized the importance of copyright protection early in the company’s history, and today’s step in launching improved measures underscores our commitment to continue to evolve our tools.

Copyright Protection Updates:

·       Faster submission times for copyright holders
·       Advanced features such as keyword detection
·       Improved user interface for ease-of-use and management

Ustream is committed to gaining feedback from our rights partners to improve the tool further. Additional improvements will be released in the coming weeks.

Vobile

·       Vobile operates the VideoDNA Database, which is “the most comprehensive database of authorized video fingerprints, metadata and business rules from major movie studios, television networks and record labels.” (More info: www.vobileinc.com)

·       Ustream has been integrated with Vobile for six months for Pay Per View events and recently began running the Vobile service across the Ustream platform.

This will be one of two fingerprinting solutions Ustream will utilize to identify and protect video content. The second solution is currently under development with BayTSP and TVAura.

We will continue to work closely with copyright holders and technology partners to ensure copyrights are protected. If you have any questions about how Ustream is proactively protecting copyright, please contact copyright@ustream.tv.

Bill Cosby Live, Emmy Nominations, And Other Events for the Week of 7/6

Posted on by

Wednesday, 7/7 at 4pm PT/7pm ET

Join Bill Cosby for a live conversation about social media with Mashable Editor-in-Chief Adam Ostrow, Ustream Founder and President Brad Hunstable, 12 Seconds Founder Sol Lipman, and Blog Talk Radio founder Alan Levy. Viewers around the world can experience the event first-hand and interact by posting comments and questions using the Social Stream. Watch, chat, or embed the stream here.

Emmy Nominations
Thursday, 7/8 at 5:30am PT/8:30am ET
Tune in to see the 62nd Annual Primetime Emmy Nominations announced live by Joel McHale and the stunning Sofia Vergara! You can watch it right here.
More events this week:
Five for Fighting Live Chat
Wednesday, 7/7 at 5pm PT/8pm ET
Check out a live webchat with John Ondrasik of the band Five For Fighting from their official Ustream channel page here.

MISS USA 2010, Rima Fakih Live Chat
Thursday, 7/8 at 10:45am PT/1:45pm ET
Tune in here to watch a live chat with Rima Fakih! As the proud holder of the Miss USA crown, she’s expected to represent the United States at the upcoming Miss Universe pageant in Las Vegas. Get to know her on her official channel page here.

The Spill Canvas
Thursday, 7/8 at 3pm PT/6pm ET
Join The Spill Canvas as they chat with fans and play their favorite cover songs from their Ustream channel here. Ask questions in the social stream and chat!


Stupid for Movies
Thursday, 7/8 at 8pm PT/11pm ET
Every week, LA Film Critic Association members Mark Keizer and Wade Major (aka the Digigods) sit down and discuss new releases–find out what to rent, what to buy, and what to burn. Save yourself $10 and a few precious hours by watching these guys before you go see a movie on Friday night. You can tune in here.


Real L Word Cast Chat
Sunday, 7/11 at 8pm PT/11pm ET
Oxygen’s “The Real L Word” explores love from the vantage point of real-life, high profile left coast lesbians as they fall in love, negotiate complex in-law relationships, and walk down the aisle. You can tune in here on Sunday to see a live chat with two of the cast members!