Monthly Archives: January 2010

State of the Union Coverage on Ustream

Posted on by

obama_0127

Tonight all eyes will be focused on President Obama as he takes the national stage to give his 2010 State of the Union address. We have beginning-to-end coverage of the events tonight on Ustream, along with pre-and post-coverage and commentary of the State of the Union Address.

First, watch the address from CBS’ channel page here. It starts at 5pm PST/8pm EST with pre-coverage anchored by Cali Carlin. Obama gives his speech at 6pm PST/9pm EST.

After the speech is completed at around 7pm PST/10pm EST, then the commentary starts. The Young Turks, who are partnering with Ustream as their exclusive live streaming partner, will be doing post-speech analysis from their channel page here. The young Turks have been making waves since they became the first talk show on Sirius Radio, and have since expanded their repertoire to include a Ustream show that airs every weeknight from 4pm-7pm PST. They’re not afraid to talk about sports and entertainment in one breath and then tackle the Health care crisis the next. But tonight’s show will be entirely dedicated to rehashing and analyzing Obama’s State of the Union. You won’t want to miss it.

Tune in here to see Republican Governor Bob McDonnell address a crowd of his own following the speech and provide the Republican perspective. This GOP response won’t be streamed anywhere else, so tune in here to see the other side of the story starting at 7pm PST/10pm EST.

Also following the Republican response, singer/songwriter and Oprah protege Derrick Ashong will be live streaming his “Derrick Ashong Experience: The Obama Youth Response.” In it, he’ll discuss the meanings in Obama’s speech and will likely address some of the concerns and criticisms raised during the GOP response. Tune in around 7:30pm PST/10:30pm EST right here.

Obama’s State of the Union Address and Other Events for the Week of 1/25

Posted on by

obama

Wednesday tune in to CBS’ channel here for live coverage of Obama’s State of the Union Address. It will be his first since taking office a year ago, and he’ll likely be addressing the ongoing issues of health care, the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, and his domestic agenda and plans for his next 3 years in office. Don’t miss the coverage of this historic event, which starts at 5pm PST/8pm EST with pre-address coverage anchored by Cali Carlin and the live speech (with coverage by CBS anchor Katie Couric) at 6pm PST/9pm EST.

Monday at 2pm PST/5pm EST, join the stars of USA’s Psych, James Roday and Dule Hill, along with WWE superstar John Cena, for a live chat promoting the USA Network series. The event will be streamed live on USA’s website here and on the official Ustream channel page here.

On Monday at 5pm PST, tune in here to watch country music legend Reba McEntire do a live webchat for her fans. Reba will be taking your questions live, so be sure to join and and submit them via Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, or AIM chat!

On Tuesday morning at 9:30am PST/12:30pm EST, join the automotive industry experts at Autoline Live as they broadcast from the D.C. Auto Show. Check out the latest models, get a debriefing on features and upgrades that will be big for 2010, and help yourself make a more educated choice if you’re planning on buying a car this year. It all goes down right here.

On Tuesday at 4pm PST/7pm EST, tune in to Duke University’s page here to watch a live, interactive episode of DukeReads. Duke has taken the concept of a book club and brought it online, for a chance to discuss Michael Cook’s “A Brief History of the Human Race.”

Tuesday night, stay up late with Taryn Southern (who you may recognize from hosting Ustream’s coverage of the Golden Globes). Taryn hosts her own Top 10 show every week where she’ll tackle everything from the best iphone apps to the best movies to the best music. Don’t miss her unique, top 10 show on her channel page here at 7pm PST/10pm EST.

Starting Thursday at 10am PST/1pm EST, tune in here to watch the Mecum Classic Car auction in Kissimmee, FL. Shop for a new hot rod from the comfort of your own home–or just spend a few hours ogling the most pristine vintage cars money an buy. They’ll be live from the auction on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday.

Thursday night at 9pm PST/11pm EST, join Will.i.am and his company Dipdive for an exclusive red carpet event that will raise money for Will.i.am’s Scholarship Fund. Four of the world’s biggest DJ’s will be spinning tracks until the wee hours, and there are sure to be tons of celebrity appearances. Tune in here for exclusive red carpet, backstage, and one-on-one content with Will.i.am and others.

Thursday night at 11:30pm PST/2:30am EST, tune in here for a sneak preview of the new film “Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief.” It’s the latest from the director of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. Meet the cast and be the first to see an exclusive clip from the upcoming film.

Friday at 1pm PST, tune in for the weekly installment of This Week in Startups with startup guru Jason Calacanis. To find out who will be in the hot seat this week, stay tuned to his channel page here.

Friday at 4pm PST/7pm EST, tune in here for Rear Naked Radio, a radio show devoted entirely to the latest news and events happening in the world of Mixed Martial Arts. The show is hosted by Dallas’ own Richard Hunter, and often features live interviews with some of the top fighters in the sport.

On Saturday at 3:30pm PST/6:30pm EST, tune to watch the Midwest Combat Challenge, an exclusive NAAFS Mixed Martial Arts event from Akron, OH. You can catch all the action from their channel page here.

Ustream Goes to Sundance and Other Upcoming Events

Posted on by

robert redford

Ustream is bringing the Sundance Film Festival to you this year!

As the live streaming provider for the official Sundance Channel, click here to watch complete Sundance coverage from the organizers of the Sundance Film Festival. On Sunday, January 24th, they’ll be streaming the Composers Night Concert with special musical guests. On Tuesday January 26th, it’s Official Short Film Awards Party, and on Saturday, January 30th, they’ll cover the Official Closing Night Awards Show. Be sure to check out the recorded video of Robert Redford at the Opening Day Press Conference here.

Tune in to The Room Live on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday to see live coverage of all the panels, parties, and celebs. They’ll be live from 9am to 3pm PST on Friday and Saturday, and from 9am to 12pm PST on Sunday. Watch here.

On Saturday at 10:30am PST, tune in here to watch actress Shira Lazar interviewing celebrities at Sundance from the Tweet House. There will also be additional panels focusing on the impact of real-time web on the movie industry, and a slew of celebrity appearances. Don’t miss it!

Saturday at 12pm PST, watch musician Jake Coco perform an exclusive 24-hour concert to promote his new album “I.LIVE.TO.LOVE”! He’ll be joined by other artists along the way to help him make it through, including Eric Baines, Jennifer Quiroz, and Ronnie Day. He’ll also be giving away free downloads of his new album, so be sure to tune in here to see who’s dropping by!

On Saturday at 1pm PST, tune in to Realtime Realite here for a live teleconcert benefiting Haiti’s earthquake victims. In a show of worldwide support, artists from all over the world will be Skyping in a live performance to the channel page here. Don’t miss this good music for a good cause.

On Saturday night, you might want to cancel all your plans and stay in to watch the live streaming coverage of the SAG Awards brought to you by Entertainment Tonight. They’ll be bringing you all the red carpet coverage with stars like Justin Timberlake, Felicity Huffman, and more, so don’t miss it. Show starts at 4:05pm PST right here.

The B Team Has Arrived!

Posted on by

kika

Join Ustream in welcoming the new litter of Shiba Inu Puppies with mom Kika and her dedicated human parents, Mr. and Mrs. SF Shiba! You may remember the original Shiba 6 as the adorable puppies who captured the hearts and minds of the world in 2008. Now Kika is back with her second litter, and Shibaholics will get another chance to watch them grow and play live!

The 5 Shiba Inu pups (2 males and 3 females) were born on Saturday, January 16th, and they’re all healthy and happy. Tune in here daily to watch Kika and the puppies!

Relief for Haiti

Posted on by

haiti

In the days since the devastating earthquake in Haiti, people all over the world have been coming together to help fund and provide emergency assistance needed in the area. For those wanting to stay in touch with what’s going on and provide assistance, here’s a quick rundown of some of the events happening on Ustream that aim to help the Haiti relief effort:

Keep updated with the latest live coverage from our partner, CBS News. From statements by the United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-Moon, President Obama, and others, tune in here for breaking news updates.

On Saturday, One By One Media is hosting a Haitian Assistance Relief Telethon on their channel page here. The Telethon will be broadcast live from WS Radio’s offices in San Diego and be hosted by One By One Media’s Jim Turner. The program will raise money for the relief effort and help ensure that tens of thousands of Haitians who need help acquiring such basic items as food, medical care, and shelter are able to recover in the wake of the disaster.

Zedalza, one of Ustream’s oldest regularly programmed shows, is also doing a special for Haitian relief. They’ll be fund raising until Jan. 29th, so be sure to tune in to their channel page here between 6pm and 8pm PST during the week to show support and donate.

Gaming fans can tune in to the Gaming for Haiti channel, where community members at TheSpeedGamers.com have come together to do what they do best: play video games and raise money! Tune in here to catch them taking turns playing Yoshi’s Island by Carnage.

Golden Globes Live and Other Events for the Week of 1/11

Posted on by

Golden Globes Upcoming

It’s a big week at Ustream! Here’s a breakdown and schedule of all the events we have going on:

All day on Monday Jan. 11, tune in to The CW’s channel here to catch an extended sneak peek of their new show “Life Unexpected” premiering next Monday, January 18th on The CW. The series follows the story of “Lux” a teen from Portland, Oregon, who has been bounced from foster home to foster home all her life. Lux decides to take control of her life and become an emancipated minor, so tune in and get a taste of what the series has in store for this courageous young woman.

Starting Monday, Jan. 11th and going through Sunday, Jan. 17th, tune in to our full Golden Globes coverage here to watch exclusive pre-show footage and a live interview with the host of this year’s Globes Ricky Gervais. The coverage culminates in a live Red Carpet broadcast from the Golden Globes on Sunday, Jan, 17th, and the broadcast of the entire awards ceremony starting at 5pm PST on Sunday. For a complete schedule of Golden Globe events, click here.

Tuesday at 12:15pm PST/3:15pm EST, tune in for a special broadcast brought to you by our partner CBS News. They’ll be broadcasting the first in their “Where America Stands” series exploring everything that’s happened in the past year and offering analysis and reflections by some of their top news correspondents. Tuesday’s episode will feature CBS Medical correspondent Jonathan LaPook. Tune in to CBS’ show here to watch.

On Tuesday at 4:30pm PST/7:30pm EST, tune in to watch celebrity fitness trainer and author of “The Belly Fat Cure” Jorge Cruise as he doles out helpful advice for those hoping to lose weight and eat healthier from his channel page here. Jorge has been featured on The Today Show, Oprah, and CNN. People pay thousands of dollars to receive personalized one-on-one coaching from him, but you can tune in on Tuesday and get it for free!

Wednesday, January 13th at 12pm PST/3pm EST, tune in here for a live chat with reality TV’s favorite person, Kim Kardashian. She’ll be chatting with fans for a “lunch date” courtesy of Carl’s Jr. She’ll be updating fans on her latest gig– sexy commercial spots she’s been filming for Carl’s Jr. called “Salads are Sexy.” Make sure to tune in!

Beginning Friday and going through Monday, tune in here to catch the Swimnet Grand Prix series live from Long Beach, California. You’ll be able to see US Swimming champ Michael Phelps and others compete in the first Grand Prix of 2010. It all gets started Friday at 5pm PST/8pm EST.

Spend Saturday with Kobe Bryant of the LA Lakers! Tune in on Saturday afternoon to watch “Nike Live with Kobe Bryant.” It will be the third Nike Sports event on Ustream featuring a top athlete. Kobe will bring Ustream viewers along as he unveils his latest shoe collaboration with Nike, and he’ll be taking questions from viewers along the way! Don’t miss this opportunity to interact live with one of the greatest athletes of our time!

Tune in daily at 4pm PST/7pm EST to see The Young Turks Live, a talk show that brings live news coverage from a liberal perspective. Their podcasts and daily Sirius Radio broadcast is seen/heard by millions, but they’re relatively new to the Ustream scene. Tune in here to see why they’re the winner of the 2009 Mashable Open Web Award for Best Political News Site.

Ustream coverage of CES 2010 from Las Vegas

Posted on by

CNET CES Upcoming

Ustream has several streams slated during this year’s Consumer Electronics Show (CES), kicking off on Wednesday, Jan. 6! For the first time ever, Sony will stream its CES Press Conference live on Wednesday, Jan. 6, giving Ustream viewers inside access to the coolest new gadgets. Catch a sneak preview of Sony’s new product line for 2010 and decide which products you won’t be able to live without. Will it be 3D TV? New E-book readers? Touchscreen web-surfing tablets? Motion-censored video games? Don’t wait to read about the these products later — tune in and find out for yourself in real-time! Watch the live stream right here starting at 4:15pm PST/7:15pm EST.

CNET will also broadcast coverage live of the entire CES Conference starting on Wednesday, Jan. 6 right here.

CNET Schedule:

Wednesday 1/6 @ 9am PST/12pm EST: Buzz Out Loud
Thursday 1/7 @1pm PST/4pm EST: CNET Live
Friday 1/8 @ 10am PST/1pm EST: Best of CES Finalists

VentureBeat will also be covering some of the Keynotes at the conference, including Microsoft CEO Steve Ballmer’s keynote speech on Wednesday, January 6th at 6:30pm PST/9:30pm EST, and Intel’s CEO Paul Otellini Thursday, January 7th at 4pm PST/7pm EST. It all goes down on their channel page here.

For more live coverage of the Consumer Electronics Show, check out Leo Laporte’s channel here. He’ll be covering Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday.

Thurs 1/7 between 1pm PST and 10pm PST: Live from the floor, parties, etc.
Friday 1/8 @ 9am PST: Live from the floor, then live at parties in the evening.
Saturday 1/9: The Tech Guy, This Week in Google, TWiT, all live from the floor.
Sunday 1/10: The Tech Guy and other programming live from the floor, ending at 2pm PST.